Quick and Easy Spice Crusted Chicken with Steamed Asparagus and Garlic Bread

Hello everyone. You may have noticed that there was  a brief shift to my domain. That is because, after many headaches, I have officially switched over from blogger to WordPress. In other news, I officially passed 10,000 page-views yesterday, so, yay to that! I would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of posting during the transition, but it was only because if took far more effort than it should have to get my domain back up and running. Also school, so…yeah.

 

In other news, I have a request for you, my readers. As some of you may have noticed, the pictures on my blog suck ten different ways. So, if you make one of my recipes, send me picture to mysanityisrelative@gmail.com with the post title in the header. If its better than mine, I’ll post it on my blog and give you the credit.

 

 

Anyway, now that I am finally able to post once again I have not one, not two but three items for you to test out: Spiced Chicken, Garlic Bread and Steamed Asparagus.

 

For the chicken:

You will need:

  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Cumin
  • Chile Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Powdered Ginger
  • Chicken
Preheat the oven to 375°C . In a small bowl combine the spices to taste. For nine chicken tenders I needed about a third cup of spices total, using the garlic powder as my base. If this sounds either too spicy or too expensive for your tastes, you can use breadcrumbs as a filler and smaller amounts of each spice. Take your chicken, pat it dry with a paper towel and dip into spice dish so that it is coated evenly on all sides. You only need a very thin coating, just what will stick to the chicken naturally. Put the chicken in a tin pan and place it in the oven until it is cooked through (about twenty to twenty-five minutes).
For the asparagus:
Really, the asparagus is absurdly simple. Take a metal strainer and pile in your asparagus. Fill a pot that the strainer will fit over with just enough water that the strainer won’t get wet when you put it in. Cover it and bring the water to a boil until the asparagus are limp. Transfer them to a serving dish and drizzle with balsamic vinegar and sea salt.
For the garlic bread:
Take a loaf of french or italian baguette. Cut it open lengthwise, so that it resembles a large hot dog bun. Brush the inside with olive oil or melted butter and scatter a thin sliced clove of garlic throughout. Wrap it loosely with foil and put it in the oven with the chicken until the white center just turns golden brown (about ten to fifteen minutes)

And that’s it! In under 45 minutes, including  prep, you can have a healthy and delicious dinner prepared!

Leave a Reply

