Lavash Open-face Sandwich

I was originally going to call today’s recipe lavash pizza, but the end result was more of a pile of veggies on top of lavash, so that plan went pretty far out the window.
But anyway, the dish itself remained the same. The first thing you need to do is to place your lavash bread on a cookie sheet (I had two sheets minus some).  

If this is your first experience with lavash, I highly recommend buying some and tasting it prior to making this recipe. It is very bland and not knowing what you are dealing with is one of the worst things you can do when trying a new ingredient. If you are feeling adventurous you can make your own. The next step for me was to feed an increasingly hungry boyfriend (this step may be omitted if non applicable) 
To be fair, he is excellent at layering cheese and slicing vegetables

Once your lavash is placed, it is time to layer your first cheese.  For this dish, I picked a pecorino romano and a parmesean, but you can use any two strong cheeses that will compliment each other, such as the Vermont cheddar I used  yesterday and a monterey jack.

I, however, will always have a soft spot for hard Italian cheeses. 

Pick whichever cheese you think would work better in a slightly stronger position (I chose the pecorino) and sliced it into small cubes.

I ended up chopping the cheese even smaller than shown here so that it would melt evenly.

 Spread the cheese across your lavash base

Next take some thin sliced deli ham

I only ended up using about four slices (less, what got eaten in the making of the meal)
and slice it into inch long strips

Place it over the cheese so that the entire base gets an approximately even coating of ham.

Layer your second cheese across the top of the meat.
Luckily, the parm was pre-shaved

Now it’s veggie time! You may notice a new vegetable from yesterday: the zuccini. When preparing treat it like and eggplant and discard both the topmost and bottom portions of the fruit.

Today, instead of chopping the veggies, I sliced them thin.

I would have used a mandolin but a) I always think I will cut myself and b) I don’t have one.

 Layer the veggies one at a time atop your ever growing mound of food.

I had to squash them down at one point. Otherwise, this could have gotten silly.

Another layer of your first cheese goes on the top

and put it in the oven on 350 for about fifteen minutes, or until the eggplant begins to brown.

Add salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste and drizzle with olive oil. Now you have a delicious meal. Bon apatite!

Leave a Reply

